Click into Venue Settings > Booking window & lock-in.

First option

The first option is the most liberal. If you choose it, Regular users can cancel their bookings at any time before they begin, and also can choose to end them whilst they're happening (which helps to free up space for others).

Second option

The second option allows Regular users to cancel their bookings any time before they begin, but they can't do change them after that (i.e. can't end early).

Third option

The third and final option allows you to specify the time until when Regular users can cancel their bookings. For example, if you enter "24" here, users can cancel their bookings up to 24 hours before they begin, but cannot cancel them after that point in time.

Note that users will be informed of the cancellation policy when they create the booking, and also in the booking confirmation email.

Example of the cancellation info in the booking window:


Example of the cancellation prompt for users in the day view:

Cancellation/lock-in policy with online payments enabled

When online payments are enabled, the cancellation/lock-in policy determines when you can charge bookings in some cases.

Book now, Pay later Approach:

With the BNPL approach, a booking cannot be charged until its holder is no longer able to cancel it. In other words, the holder is free to cancel their booking online, up until the cancellation/lock-in time, without having to worry about being charged.

Upfront Approach:
With the Upfront approach, payment is taken upfront (unless exempt from online payments) and users cannot cancel online, even if you have set a cancellation lock-in. However, if an Admin creates a booking on behalf of a user, the payment is not taken upfront and the booking can again only be charged after the holder is not able to cancel.

Here's an example of a chargeable booking with a cancellation lock-in policy:

Some further notes:

  • The end-early and cancellation lock-in policy does not apply to Admins. Admins can create bookings at any time.
  • If you change the settings, the new policy will apply only to new bookings created from that point in time. That is, Skedda won't change the cancellation/end-early policy of existing bookings if you change this setting. This is intentional, because Skedda communicates this cancellation/lock-in/end-early information to the booking holder in e.g. the confirmation email when the booking is made, so they would expect this to remain the same.
  • End-early policy: If a booking with a non-zero price is ended early by its holder, the price of the booking intentionally remains unchanged. If the venue has notifications enabled, the venue email address is notified of "end-early" actions, so an Admin can adjust pricing at this point if required.
Did this answer your question?